Telegram adds nuclear conversation-delete for sender and recipient

Chris Burns - Mar 25, 2019, 10:05 am CDT
0
Telegram adds nuclear conversation-delete for sender and recipient

Users can now delete any Telegram message at all, whatsoever, for both themselves and the user. This messaging app and service has been in service since 2013, and just now they’ve given their users the ability to delete any message they’d like, at any time, for both themselves and the person to whom they’ve communicated. This is what Telegram calls “complete control.”

How would that even work

Users can delete any message they want, any message in their chat with another person in Telegram. Users have previously been able to delete messages they’ve sent, now they’ll be able to delete any message – sent or received. So don’t go sending your one typed-up term paper to your worst enemy, because they’ll be able to destroy it, utterly.

The previous Telegram “unsend” feature worked only within the first 48 hours after a message was sent. This feature allowed only the deletion of messages sent – so the deleter could only delete things they’d sent. Now anyone can delete anything, whatsoever, and there’s no time limit.

Users can delete ALL messages between themselves and another person by tapping “Clear Chat” as well. When tapping this button, users can choose to delete all messages for themselves, or for themselves AND the person to whom they were speaking.

Another Lock

In Telegram, a user can potentially take a message you’ve sent and forward said message (with your name and everything) on to another Telegram user. That forwarded message then included a link back to your account within Telegram. There’s a new way to restrict this feature on your own behalf.

The new feature is a setting, found in the app’s Privacy and Security settings. This feature is found under “Forwarded messages”, and it’s right near other very similar settings for additional restrictions you can put on other media you’ve got inside Telegram. With the forwarded messages lock clicked, your friends will still be able to “forward” your messages, but the message will no longer link to your account.

With this feature, and I quote Telegram here, “people you chat with will have no verifiable proof you ever sent them anything.” Can’t imagine how that might be misused – can’t imagine at all!


Must Read Bits & Bytes