Google Drive Scores Support For 18 New Languages

Google Drive has supported quite a few languages, and you'd have been hard-pressed to find one you didn't speak or need. Some users, however, were still left out from using their native language, which could change today with the latest update. Support for 18 additional languages has been added to Google Drive, among them being some common ones like Canadian French and Latin American Spanish.

The new languages added to Drive are comprised of: Afrikaans, Amharic, Basque, Chinese (Hong Kong), Estonian, French (Canada), Galician, Icelandic, Khmer, Lao, Malaysian, Nepali, Persian, Sinhalese, Spanish (Latin America), Swahili, Urdu, and Zulu. This brings the total number of supported languages up from 47 to 65, most of which also work with the spellchecker integrated with Drive.

Users can switch betwixt languages freely by heading into Settings, which should look like the screenshot above. Under languages, the new ones are included in the language list (Afrikaans at the top is new, for example). Needless to say, the language you select will span across multiple Drive services, so you'll see it under Docs and Sheets, for example.

This follows quite a few updates to Drive that Google has pushed out over the last couple months, with right-clicking sharing and a "Save to Drive" button making appearances in early May. A week or so after that in mid-May, Google unified the storage space between Gmail, Google+ and Drive into a single block of 15GB.

Both the iOS and Android Google Drive apps saw updates as well. Google Drive for Android, for example, was updated with document scanning in late May, as well as a new card layout and Optical Character Recognition. The iOS app, meanwhile, was updated to include image swiping and comments, giving it a boost in the sphere of collaboration.

SOURCE: Google Drive