Cloud storage provider Dropbox has updated its Dropbox Pro service, streamlining storage to a single 1TB plan, and making it easier to secure files and remotely manage content. The tweaks include password-protected shared links, which mean that even if someone else gets access to an URL for a shared file, they’ll still need to have the password you set in the first place.
Meanwhile, shared links can now optionally have expiration dates set, meaning that access granted to someone else can be automatically rescinded at a later point. By default, Dropbox Pro offers to kill links in 7 or 30 days time, but there’s also the option to set a custom date for it to take place.
There are now also view-only links for shared folders, which allow other users to see content but not edit it.
Finally for feature changes, Dropbox Pro supports remote wiping. Users can wipe their Dropbox folder from a lost or stolen device via the web, while still knowing that their data is kept in the cloud.
Perhaps most importantly, Dropbox has cut its prices for Pro service. There’s now a single plan, priced at $9.99/month, and which comes with 1 TB (1,000 GB) of storage.
Existing Dropbox Pro subscribers will be upgraded to the new system automatically over the next few days, the company says.