PSA: Watch Fortnite’s Star Wars event today to get a special glider

Brittany A. Roston - Dec 14, 2019, 8:00 am CST
0
PSA: Watch Fortnite’s Star Wars event today to get a special glider

As advertised on many posters in the battle royale island, today brings Fortnite‘s big Star Wars event. This afternoon, players will be able to pile into the Risky Reels in-game theater to watch a scene from the upcoming movie Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker. If you were debating about whether to watch, Epic Games is offering a free perk as a bit of incentive to participate.

Epic Games scored an exclusive Rise of Skywalker scene premiere in its battle royale game. All players will be able to join a match to watch the event starting at 1:30PM EST / 10:30AM PST. The actual scene will play on the Risky Reels theater screen at 2PM EST / 11AM PST.

J.J. Abrams will be joining Epic for this event, presumably to introduce the scene to viewers, though it’s unclear how that will work. All players will be able to participate — and if past events are any indication, you should get into a match as soon as possible to avoid server errors.

The Star Wars scene isn’t the only thing players will get from this event — Epic will also give everyone who participates a special Star Wars glider. The glider will be styled after the TIE whisper used by trilogy villain Kylo Ren, joining the Star Wars skins, emote, and other items recently added to the Item Shop.

Other details are lacking, but we can make an educated guess based on past events. Epic will likely put the event in its own Limited Time Mode; it’ll also most likely disable death in this mode so that some players can’t ruin it for everyone else. It’s unclear how long the event will last, but the scene isn’t likely to be long.


Must Read Bits & Bytes