Nintendo Switch owners can get a sneak Splatoon 2 peek

JC Torres - Feb 13, 2017, 4:45 am CDT
0
Nintendo Switch owners can get a sneak Splatoon 2 peek

The Nintendo Switch is unorthodox in many ways, not just its actual form. Eschewing tradition, the gaming device won’t be launching with an entourage of strong titles, even Nintendo’s own in-house games. Splatoon 2, for example, won’t be coming until later in summer. But to throw new Switchers a bone, Nintendo will be letting fans participate in a sort of demo, called the Global Testfire event, while also teasing even more features for when the game does finally launch.

So here’s how it will go down. Once the device launches, new owners of the Nintendo Switch will be able to download a demo copy of Splatoon 2 via Internet only. This will most likely be locked down in functionality, limited to the aforementioned Global Testfire event. This will be scheduled times when players can test out some of the features of the latest cephalopod shooter in the best way possible: shooting others.

March 24
• 12-12:59 p.m. PT / 3-3:59 p.m. ET
• 8-8:59 p.m. PT / 11-11:59 p.m. ET

March 25
• 4-4:59 a.m. PT / 7-7:59 a.m. ET
• 12-12:59 p.m. PT / 3-3:59 p.m. ET
• 8-8:59 p.m. PT / 11-11:59 p.m. ET

March 26
• 4-4:59 a.m. PT / 7-7:59 a.m. ET

Of course, they won’t be able to experience all that Splatoon 2 has to offer, some of which Nintendo is only too happy to tease. For example, there’s the Private Battle Spectator View, which allows up to two players to just sit back, relax, and enjoy the carnage without getting their hands dirty. Then there’s LAN Play, which, as the name suggests, lets players connect over wired LAN for a local multiplayer competition. This pretty much paves the way for tournaments like the one shown in the first Switch teaser video. LAN Party supports up to 8 active participants and 2 spectators.

Splatoon 2 will also have some support for the Nintendo Switch mobile app. This will mostly take the form of play management and chatting. The latter supports voice chat, allowing players to talk, by voice and in real time, with everyone else in a private battle, and then switch to team-only voice chat once the party starts. That said, this service won’t come for free.


Must Read Bits & Bytes