Google Samsung Galaxy Nexus launch reminder: Join us!

Oct 18, 2011
3

There's plenty going on in the mobile world today, but it's Samsung and Google's Android Ice Cream Sandwich and Galaxy Nexus launch that we're most excited about. The event was delayed from CTIA out of respect for Steve Jobs' passing, and is now taking place in Hong Kong in just short of twelve hours time, and SlashGear is on hand to bring you all the details of the newest Googlephone.

We've already got a solid idea of what to expect, too, thanks to Samsung's teasers and some judicious carrier leaking. Samsung had hinted at a big-screen phone with a curve to its profile, and earlier today NTT DoCoMo confirmed that the Galaxy Nexus is what's on the agenda today. The Japanese carrier also confirmed that the handset should be arriving in November, too.

That was followed by an apparent leak of all the Galaxy Nexus specs, again from DoCoMo, and if true confirming talk of a 4.65-inch Super AMOLED HD touchscreen running at an impressive 1280 x 720, a dual-core 1.2GHz OMAP processor and a 5-megapixel main camera with 1080p HD video recording.

The Google and Samsung presentation kicks off at 10am Hong Kong time on October 19; if you're in the US that's 10pm Eastern tonight, October 18, or 7pm Pacific. Those of you in the UK can join us for some pre-dawn 'droid action at 3am BST.


Must Read Bits & Bytes