Tech - News
The iPhone Has a New Lockdown Feature You Need to Know About
By KEYEDE ERINFOLAMI
Apple has a reputation for providing top-tier privacy and security on its products, so in direct response to the Pegasus spyware attack, it created a new feature to amp up security on iPhones. Apple is calling the superhero feature "Lockdown Mode," and it's an extreme security resource that will be available on Apple's soon-to-be-released iOS 16.
Lockdown Mode will strengthen your iPhone’s defenses, but also restrict many functionalities — a necessary trade-off for such high security. Some of the functions you'll lose while in the mode include web browsing, message attachments, shared albums, accessory connections, FaceTime, and new profiles.
To enable lockdown mode, open the Settings app on your device, then select the Privacy & Security tab. Scroll down, and select the Lockdown Mode tab. On the next pop-up screen, select Turn On Lockdown Mode, and when a prompt appears asking if you're absolutely sure you want to enable Lockdown mode, tap Turn On & Restart.
Your iPhone will restart to activate Lockdown Mode, and you will notice restrictions on certain features, such as the ones mentioned previously. To exit Lockdown Mode on your device, repeat the same steps and toggle it off. You may need to manually re-activate some features, like Shared Photo Albums, after turning off Lockdown Mode.
Apple says Lockdown mode will get more robust over time, by adding new security measures. More than anything else, Lockdown Mode is damage repair for the black-eye that Apple's reputation suffered as a result of the Pegasus hack. By providing Lockdown Mode, Apple is reinforcing its reputation as a user-first, security-conscious company.