Week in Review

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 4 2012

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 4 2012

This week started with a total restructuring of the heads at RIM while they consider licensing BlackBerry 10 and Chris Davies assures us that RIM's new CEO is a Placeholder, not a prophet. Of course other than that there's just a brand new Year of the Dragon in China and a radiation storm hitting the Earth courtesy of the Sun. Auroras and full video documentation from NASA intact. And HP's webOS is now open source including its good pal Enyo - and John Rubinstein is gone!

Continue Reading...

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 3 2012

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 3 2012

Incase you're wondering where Week 2 went, we've got that for you too in the form of a whole mass of CES 2012 wrap-ups, complete with videos, photos, and every bit of awesome information you could have ever hoped for in what would otherwise be a "Week in Review" post here on SlashGear. As for the week we just got done with, there's certainly a lot of aftershocks to be had as well, plus a whole mess of SOPA. As you may or may not know, this very moment in Washington there is a brand new bill numbered 1981 that's much worse than the "piracy" bills SOPA and PIPA we just destroyed - so get excited about a new war here and now!

Continue Reading...

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 1 2012

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 1 2012

It's time to start a whole new Roman Calendar year, here in the last of them all for this planet according to the crazies, and we're about to jump head-first into the pool of madness by the name of CES 2012! What you're going to get below is just one piece of the puzzle which amounts to the calm before the storm - but it's no calm. There's been so many leaks and previews for the show coming up this next week that it'll be a surprise if anything is left to show at the show! Have a peek!

Continue Reading...

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 52 2011

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 52 2011

Welcome to the last week of the year, and here at SlashGear an odd week since last week we did not have a wrap-up as such. What we're doing this week is checking out our last reviews, our last featured posts, columns, top posts, and the like. Note furthermore that this review is one part of a set of reviews of the whole year of 2011, pieces that we choose and that you choose in kind! The last posts of the year were an odd bunch, let me tell you, and at no point should you expect that a holiday season would be bland - in fact it was utterly wild when it came down to it - enjoy!

Continue Reading...

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 50 2011

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 50 2011

Welcome to the SlashGear Week in Review for week 50, which means we only have two weeks left in 2011! As usual, a lot has happened this week. HP had a fire sale for more TouchPads on eBay and sold out in minutes. The TouchPads sold for $99 for the 16GB versions and $149 for the 32GB with stock selling out in minutes. We learned early in the week that a pair of drunken RIM executives were placed in cuffs during a commercial flight after they got drunk and caused trouble. The pair of execs later escaped from those cuffs by chewing through them.

Continue Reading...

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 32 2011

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 32 2011

It's that time again; the SlashGear Week in Review is back. One of my favorite stories from last week was the LEGO DIY R2D2 robot. The robot was remote controlled and even the little dome turned making for a very cool project. The teen LulzSec hacker that was arrested in Britain recently was found to have details on hundreds of thousands of people on his computer. The exact number according to the police was 750,000 different personal records on people.

Continue Reading...

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 30 2011

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 30 2011

Another week has come and gone in the geek world and it's time to round up some of the biggest and most important stories of the week. MySpace's founder warned Google+ to fear the filter early in the week. Tom Anderson cautioned against relying too greatly on algorithmic filtering. AMD tipped that the Xbox 720 will have Avatar levels of detail when it launches. That would make for some truly awesome video games.

Continue Reading...

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 29 2011

SlashGear Week in Review – Week 29 2011

Welcome to this week's edition of the SlashGear Week in Review, let's get to it! The Vol Speaker concept turned up this week with a design that makes it look like a big volume knob. The concept has a rechargeable battery inside for portable listening. We learned that Android 3.2 fixes the screen incompatibility for apps that were previously handset only. The OS will get the ability to change from stretch to fill and zoom to fill the screen.

Continue Reading...

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17