No, Google didn't just turn Google Photos into Google+. Instead, they've updated the app to include Shared Albums, meaning you will be able to upload photos to an album that all of your contacts can see. Public sharing is slightly different, as is posting to Facebook. This update allows friends and family - whomever you've added - to access a unique folder in your library. Others can share folders of theirs with you, too.