Facebook kills bizarre social roulette app

May 14, 2013
0
Facebook kills bizarre social roulette app

Facebook is the world's largest social network and boasts millions of users all around the world. I'd wager a huge number of those users have a love-hate relationship with social network. They love being able to keep in touch with friends and family, but there always seems to be at least a few people on your friends list that are more intent on creating drama and getting on your nerves than keeping in touch.

I've known more than a few people that were really on the fence when it came to keeping their Facebook account or deleting it. You probably know a few people like this, they are the sort who have an account but never post anything and only rarely check to see what's going on. Over the weekend, a new app for Facebook turned up called Social Roulette.

The intention of this app was to take control out of the hands of the user when it came to deleting the account. The game was a spin on the deadly game of Russian Roulette. Rather than risking your life, The simply risked your Facebook account. The design of the app was that one in six people who used it would have their complete Facebook profile deleted.

According to the developers of the app, we can completely remove all your posts, friends, apps, likes, photos, and games before completely deactivating it [your account]." If this sounds like an interesting app, Facebook has blocked the application and it no longer functions. While this sort of app is said to not violate Facebook's terms and conditions, it obviously isn't something that Facebook would want out there.

The last thing Facebook wants is for users to delete their account. Facebook is working incredibly hard to figure out a way to generate money from the millions and millions of users the social network has. Honestly, the developers of the application had to know Facebook would eventually block them, even the logo for the app used Facebook's logo, which the social network doesn't take kindly to. The developers of the app said Facebook blocked their API key and restricted their ability to create Facebook applications. The developer say that the Facebook automated system flagged their app for "creating a negative user experience."

SOURCE: TechCrunch


Must Read Bits & Bytes