Apple Store goes down: Mac hardware incoming

Jun 11, 2012
1

The Apple Store has gone down for "updating" ahead of WWDC 2012, with the company believed to be restocking the shelves with new MacBook Pro, Mac Pro, MacBook Air and other models. By now traditional ahead of a significant Apple launch, the downtime would seemingly confirm longstanding speculation that WWDC won't solely be software focused but will see some new hardware arriving too.

Exactly what form that new hardware will take is still unconfirmed, though there's no shortage of rumor about what we can expect. According to the latest talk, a split in the MacBook Pro line is possible, with a refresh to the existing models accompanied by a new 15-inch Retina Display version borrowing some styling cues from the MacBook Air.

As for the Air, that's also expected to see an upgrade, more than likely to feature Ivy Bridge 3rd-gen Intel Core processors. The Mac Pro, languishing without an update for two years now, is also overdue a refresh.

We'll be live-blogging the whole WWDC 2012 keynote from 10AM PST (1PM EST; 6PM BST) over at http://live.slashgear.com/ with all the big news filtering through to the SlashGear homepage.


Must Read Bits & Bytes