Apple puts an end to app screenshot swaps to fight scammers

Jan 10, 2013
2
Apple puts an end to app screenshot swaps to fight scammers

In a move to put the kibosh on scammers, Apple will be locking down app screenshots in iTunes Connect once an app has been approved. This will make it difficult for scammers to swap out their own screenshots with those of different, more popular apps, tricking buyers into purchasing their own product. The change went into effect today.

There are legitimate reasons to change an app's screenshot, of course, such as to reflect updates. Developers will be able to change their screenshots, but only after submitting a binary or update. This will help protect customers while making it easier for Apple to nuke fraudulent apps before someone falls victim.

The update Apple its Developer website reads thusly: "Beginning January 9, app screenshots will be locked in iTunes Connect once your app has been approved. New screenshots may be uploaded when you submit a binary for an update to an existing app or a new app."

Some developers are likely to be annoyed by this hoop they have to jump through to make a legitimate change to their app screenshots. Submissions for screenshot changes will be subjected to approval because of the additional red tape. Still, if it helps limit the number of fake apps, both developers and customers will benefit from the change in the long run.

[via Mac Observer]


Must Read Bits & Bytes